RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide English 111 Expository Writing

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC). 

  1. You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
  2. You can request an interlibrary loan or reserve a book in RCC library via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on "My Account" (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  4. You can search the "Reserve Desk" to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.

The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a good starting point for researching topics that you do not know much about or that are completely new to you.  They can give you background information which can help when you move to more in-depth resources later.  Specialized, or subject encyclopedias, may cover just one field or even a sub-unit of that field.

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations   (Ref 960.03 Enc)

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers   (Ref 303.484 Rap)

The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll    (Ref 781.66 Rol)

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture   (Ref 973.921 St)

World Book Encyclopedia   (Ref 031 Wor)

-TOP-

 

Dictionaries
A dictionary is any single or multi-volume work which briefly explains terms and topics related to a specific subject, usually arranged alphabetically.  Dictionaries are useful for understanding terminology and concepts, identifying synonyms and related terms, and are useful resources to consult when formulating and refining your research strategy.  Illustrations and references to additional resources are often included.

A Dictionary of American Idioms   (Ref 423.1 Dic)

The Facts on File Dictionary of Clichés   (Ref 423.1 Amm)

Oxford Dictionary of Allusions   (Ref 422.03 Del)

Oxford English Dictionary   (Ref 423 Mur)

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary 10th ed.   (Ref 423 Mer)

New Roget’s Thesaurus of the English Language in Dictionary Form
(Ref 424 Lew)

-TOP-

 

Handbooks, Manuals, and Guides
These resources supply concise factual and statistical information, often in the form of charts, graphs, tables and formulas.  They offer very basic information, with little or no discussion or analysis of the facts they present.  These tools may be general or specific to a field, group of people, or era.  Try searching the online catalog using the keywords of your topic combined with one of the following keywords: “handbook,” “manual,” or “guide.”

A Guide to Argumentative Writing   (808.042 Sta)

How to write a thesis : a guide to the research paper   (808.02 Tei)

Hodges' Harbrace Handbook – a reliable guide for proper grammar, style, punctuation, and English language mechanics (808.042Hod)

APA Publication Manual   (Reserve Desk 808.02 Pub)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers   (Reserve Desk 808.027)

 

-TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

NewCredo Reference (enter library provided password in < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

NC LIVE (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – a general database containing full-text articles and citations from scholarly sources

CQ Researcher Online – provides coverage of social and political issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy

Master File Premier general magazines, journals, & newspapers covering many subjects

Newspaper Source – provides full-text of many major American  & international newspapers

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

 

-TOP-

Find Websites

Search Engines & Metasearchers (reviewed by Search Engine Watch)


Dogpile  
Popular metasearch site that sends a search to a customizable list of search engines, directories and specialty search sites, then displays results from each search engine individually.

Google   
Has a well-deserved reputation as the top choice for those searching the web. It provides both comprehensive coverage of the web along with great relevancy.  It offers spell checking, easy access to dictionary definitions, images, street maps, telephone numbers and more. See Google's help page for an entire rundown on some of these features.

HotBot  
Provides easy access to the web's three major crawler-based search engines: Yahoo, Google and Teoma. Unlike a metasearch engine, it cannot blend the results from all of these crawlers together. Nevertheless, it's a fast, easy way to get different web search "opinions" in one place.

Yahoo!   
In addition to excellent search results, you can use tabs above the search box on the Yahoo home page to seek images, Yellow Page listings or use Yahoo's excellent shopping search engine. Or visit the Yahoo Search home page, where even more specialized search options are offered.

-TOP-

Directories – unlike Search Engines, Directories are compiled by real people, often librarians, and are very good starting points when looking for academic resources on the Internet.


Galaxy  
“…Depth of coverage within defined subjects as well as the exclusion of sites that are offensive, incomplete or poorly maintained.”  Edited by professional librarians.

Infomine  
Built by librarians from the University of California, Wake Forest University, California State University, the University of Detroit - Mercy, and other universities and colleges.

Internet Public Library  
Includes searchable subject collections, reference section, reading room, kids and teens spaces; maintained by University of Michigan’s School of Information.

Librarians’ Internet Index 
Resources selected and evaluated by professional librarians.

Search Engine Colossus 
International directory of Search Engines.

-TOP-

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) – offers online writing, research, and MLA and APA style help 

Citation Style Guide: APA (from RCC English department)  

Sample Research Paper: APA Style 

Citation Style Guide: MLA (from RCC English department)  

Sample Research Papers: MLA Style 

WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary 

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!


E-mail: library@randolph.edu

We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7!

-TOP-