RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide English 114 Professional Research and Reporting

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Print & Electronic Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC). It includes books, periodicals, videos, CDs, and more.  The catalog can be searched by author, keyword, title, or subject.

The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

Career Information and Vocational Guidance

Career Information Center (Ref 331.702 Car)
Diversified Health Occupations   (610.69 Sim)
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance   (Ref 331.702 Enc)
Occupational Outlook Handbook (Ref 371.425 Occ)
Opportunities in Nursing Careers   (610.73 Fre)

Resumés, Job hunting, Interviewing

The Edge Resumé and Job Searching Strategy   (650.14 Cor)
The Guide to Internet Job Searching   (025.066 Ril)
Interviewing   (650.14 Hir)
Job Hunting Handbook   (650.14 Dah) also available in Spanish
Resumés for Nursing Careers   (610.73 Res)

-TOP-

Electronic Books (ebooks)

NetLibrary– ebook collection offering easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books. Search by keyword (e.g. job hunting, career planning, criminal justice career), title, author.

To obtain a password to access NetLibrary off campus, please contact the library.

-TOP-

Find Employment Related Websites
Use your favorite search engine and keywords (e.g. career planning, jobs, sample resumes, sample cover letters) or visit one of our recommended sites:

America's Career Infonet: Career Resource Library
Provides occupational, demographic, and labor market information at the local, state, and national levels. Also includes links to job descriptions reproduced from a variety of publications including the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

America's Job Bank   
Over a million jobs listed. Offers two levels of free service: search for possible job openings or create and submit a resume to the system, conduct and save customized job searches.

Employment Security Commission of North Carolina  
Search for a job, career planning tools, training programs.

Monster Jobs  
Find a job, post a resume, find career advice including sample resumes and cover letters.

North Carolina Health Careers   
Determine if a health career is for you and investigate which careers most closely match your interests and abilities. Includes description of 90 health occupations browsable by category or keyword. Maintained by North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (AHECs).

North Carolina Office of State Personnel  
State government employment opportunities by agency and university.

-TOP-

North Carolina Public Schools
Information about teaching positions in North Carolina including licensure, national board certification, application forms, and local job fairs.

Occupational Outlook Handbook  
Contains current information on employment trends and outlooks in major job categories, including nature of work, educational and training requirements, average earnings, and working conditions. Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Randolph Community College Employment Opportunities

Randolph Community College JobLink Career Center

Student Services counseling staff offers career assessments, vocational guidance, occupational resource information, job listings, and career decision-making instruction.

TriadCareers  
Job opportunities in Greensboro and the surrounding area. Search jobs and companies, view career news, access career resources. A service of the News & Record.

-TOP-

Find Newspaper Websites

North Carolina Newspapers

The Asheboro Courier-Tribune  
Asheboro, NC

The Charlotte Observer, NC  

The High Point Enterprise, NC  

La Noticia  
North Carolina’s Spanish language newspaper online.

News & Observer  
Raleigh, NC

News and Record  
Greensboro, NC

North Carolina Newspapers Online  
NC Press Association’s collection of links to NCPA member newspapers.

Winston-Salem Journal, NC  

-TOP-

International Newspaper Directories

International News and Newspapers Online  
Online newspapers from around the world; a free service from Jackson Library at UNC-G.

News Voyager  
Newspaper Association of America’s portal to newspaper Websites around the world, other sites with links to college newspapers and newspaper archives.

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!


E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-