RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide HIS 121 Western Civilization I

 
 

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC). 
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.

The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

GENERAL WORKS
The Encyclopedia of ancient civilizations of the Near East and Mediterranean  (Ref 939.4 Enc)
Religions of the ancient world : a guide   (Ref 200.93 Rel)
World atlas of the past   (Ref 911 Hay)

-TOP-

GREECE
The Cambridge illustrated history of ancient Greece   (938 Cam)
Civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean : Greece and Rome   (Ref 938 Civ)
The Greeks [videorecording] : crucible of civilization   (938 VT-2025)

ROME
Ancient Rome [videorecording]   (937 VT-2152)
Civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean : Greece and Rome   (Ref 938 Civ)
The decline and fall of the Roman Empire    (937.06 Gib 1960)
From Jesus to Christ [videorecording] : the first Christians   (232.9 VT-1328)
The Roman Empire [videorecording] : growth and development   (937.06 VT-836)
The Romans : from village to empire   (937 Boa)

MIDDLE AGES
Age of wars of religion, 1000-1650   (Ref 909.07 Nol v.1-2)
Atlas of the medieval world   (Ref 909.07 McK)
Encyclopedia of the crusades   (Ref 909.07 And)
The feudal transformation : 900-1200   (944.02 Pol)
Medieval England : an encyclopedia   (Ref 942 Med)
Monks & nuns, saints & outcasts : religion in medieval society : essays in honor of Lester K. Little   (274.03 Mon)

RISE OF ISLAM
Europe and Islam   (909.097 Car)
Islam [videorecording] : empire of faith   (297 VT-2008-2009)
The Oxford history of Islam   (297 Oxf)

-TOP-

RENAISSANCE
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance   (Ref 940.21 Ber)
The European Renaissance: centres and peripheries   (940.21 Bur)
The Renaissance [videorecording]   (940.21 VT-2155)

REFORMATION
The Reformation of the sixteenth century   (270.6 Bai)
Reformation thought : an introduction   (270.6 McG)

ABSOLUTISM & CONSTITUTIONALISM
The age of absolutism, 1648-1775   (940.25 Ash)
From absolutism to Revolution, 1648-1848   (940.2 Row)
The history of government from the earliest times   (320.9 Fin)

-TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click one of these titles to search it directly: Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History, Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance, A Guide to the Ancient World, and Who's Who in the Roman World.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Searchable collection of E-Book reference titles including: Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World and the Encyclopedia of Religion.

Greenwood Digital Collection (available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include: Daily Life in Ancient Mesopotamia; Daily Life in Medieval Europe; Daily Life in Renaissance Italy; Daily Life in the Age of Sail; Daily Life in the Medieval Islamic World; Daily Life in the Roman City; Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks; and Daily Life of the Ancient Romans. Collection is searchable by title, author, and subject.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present

 

-TOP-

 

Find Movies

NC Live Media Collection-World History
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

 

Find Websites

A History of the Crusades  
The online edition of the six-volume narrative history of medieval Christian military expeditions to the Holy Land. Each volume is keyword searchable and browsable via detailed tables of contents, with larger-size reproductions of individual pages taken directly from the text. The original work was edited by Kenneth M. Setton and published by University of Wisconsin Press; site provided by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.

The Classics Pages
Includes "well over 1000 pages of news, information, games and controversy about the life, literature, art and archaeology of the ancient world of Greece and Rome…”

Discoverers Web
The stated intent of this directory is to "gather all kinds of information found on the web about voyages of discovery and exploration." This text-only Web site is organized by time period and area of the world, and also contains an alphabetical listing of explorers.

HyperHistory Online  
Charts of history from 1000 B.C. to the present. Provides indexes for people, events, and general history, covering empires and invasions, inventions and achievements, rulers and leaders, artists, writers, philosophers, and scientists; names of people, places, and events on the timelines link to brief narratives. Also includes excellent world maps and an index of over 1,000 people. Based on the World History Chart.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Reformation Page
Extensive “collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts” on the Protestant and Catholic Reformations in Europe, Absolutism, and Constitutionalism. Texts from the early modern to modern periods also included.  Designed by Paul Halsall at Fordham University

The Islamic World to 1600
This tutorial outlines "Muslim beliefs and practices, as well as the history of the Islamic world from the 7th to the 17th centuries, including the expansion of the Islamic empires of Asia, Africa, and Europe." Sections include "The Caliphate and the First Islamic Dynasty," "The Fractured Caliphate and the Regional Dynasties," "The Mongol Invasions," and "Rise of the Great Islamic Empires." Produced by the Applied History Research Group at the University of Calgary.

Librarians’ Internet Index
Internet resources selected, evaluated, and organized by professional librarians. Searchable and browsable.

Medieval Europe
A plain text overview of this period of European history, including The Dark Ages, covering late antiquity; The Carolingian Era , providing information about the period under Charlemagne; The Tenth Century, with the role of the Moors and the Vikings; and The Development of the Papacy. Additionally, William the Conqueror contains a history of England; and there is a history of The First Crusade, Medieval Society, The Black Death, and the Avignonese Papacy. From Boise State University

Renaissance: What Inspired This Age of Balance and Order?  
This attractive site describes aspects of the European Renaissance including its origins in the Middle Ages, the rise of navigation and trade, development of the printing press, arts, and the Renaissance in Florence Italy. From Annenberg/CPB Projects Learner Online.

Rome: From Republic to Empire  
Includes brief information on a wide range of topics about Rome's history, culture, and civilization. Included are slavery, Roman nomenclature, government, clothing, social classes, Roman baths, gladiator games, chariot racing, and more. Images are also provided.

WebChron: Historical and Cross-Cultural Chronologies
Contains a series of linked chronologies that depict world, regional, and cross-cultural history. Cross-Cultural Chronologies include Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Western Civilization, and Technology. Within chronologies there are both links to related chronologies as well as links to WebChron articles and related Web sites. Developed by the History Department at North Park University.

-TOP-

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools


Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!


E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm      

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-