RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide HIS 122 Western Civilization II

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC). 

  1. You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 
  2. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  4. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.

The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

 

Selected Books and Audiovisuals

The age of religious wars, 1559-1689   (940.2 Dun)

Cold War America, 1946 to 1990   (Ref 973.92 Gre)

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism   (Ref 947 Enc)

Encyclopedia of the industrial revolution in America   (Ref 973.03 Ols)

The Fatal attraction of Adolf Hitler [videorecording]   (943.086 VT-1528)

The foundations of early modern Europe, 1460-1559   (940.21 Ric)

Kings and philosophers, 1689-1789   (940.252 Kri)

Louis XIV   (944.033 Lou)

Myth, history, and the Industrial Revolution   (330.941 Col)

States, nations, and nationalism : from the Middle Ages to the present  
(940.2 Sch)

World atlas of the past   (Ref 911 Hay)

-TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on the following title to search it directly: The Encyclopedia of World History.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Searchable collection of E-Book reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Religion.

Greenwood Digital Collection(available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include: The Daily Life series, World War I, and World War II. Collection is searchable by title, author, and subject.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-


Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Annals of American History – Provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Contains original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews. Photos and multimedia included.

Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more.

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

Find Movies
NC Live Media Collection-World History
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Websites

The Berlin Wall  
Tells the story of the Berlin Wall and explores how news coverage differed in East and West Berlin. Includes an essay, timeline (1945-1989), and information on censorship under Stalin. From the Newseum.

Best of History Web Sites   
Award winning portal to over 1,200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness. Coverage from prehistory to 20th century, including general resources and maps. Created by Thomas Daccord, history and technology teacher at Noble & Greenough School, Dedham, MA.

CNN: Cold War   
In-depth information on subjects such as the Iron Curtain, Marshall Plan, Korean War, Sputnik, Cuba, Vietnam, China, and the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. Cold War Experience examines Culture, Technology, Espionage, and The Bomb, with articles, images, streaming video, maps, timelines, and message boards. Knowledge Bank offers biographies of Cold War figures, a glossary of terms, chronology, maps, historical documents, and interactive images. Companion Web site to a CNN TV documentary series, Episode-by-Episode.

The Great War  
This World War I site includes history and analysis of the war; overviews of the major battles with excerpts from veteran's letters and audio interviews; a ten minute video showing film footage and photographs from the battlefields; and information on the Russian revolution, war memorials, and poets who died in the war. Produced in 1998 by BBC News in observance of the 80th anniversary of the Armistice.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: The Early Modern World  
Contents include The Early Modern World System, Mercantile Capitalism, and Reflections on the Trade and the New Economy; the sourcebook consists of both extracts from primary sources and links to other online resources, grouped under themed headings. The Science sourcebook contains a section on the Industrial Revolution (has some broken links). Designed by Paul Halsall at Fordham University.

Librarians’ Internet Index
Internet resources selected, evaluated, and organized by professional librarians. Searchable and browsable.

The Nationalism Project  
Contains an extensive collection of materials related to the study of nationalism including: essays, articles, dissertations, book abstracts and reviews, subject bibliographies, a bibliography of over 2,000 journal articles, and links to nationalism-related resources. Produced by Eric G.E. Zuelow, Assistant Professor of European and World History at West Liberty State College.

Periodical Atlas of Europe  
Features 21 online maps showing the countries of Europe at the end of each century from year 1 to year 2000. Also includes a few images of historical sites.

World War II Commemoration  
Provides an in-depth introduction to the Second World War, including information on each of the major war theaters with key terminology and concepts; biographies of the leading political figures and statistics on war casualties are also furnished. A few air combat films can be downloaded using QuickTime. There are links to other Second World War sites. From Grolier Online with material from Encyclopedia Americana.

-TOP-

 Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools


Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!


E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-