Subject Guide HIS 131 American History I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Maps

The American Revolution, 1775-1783 : an encyclopedia
(Ref 973.303 Ame)

Atlas of American history   (Ref 911.73 Ada)

Colonial America to 1763   (Ref 973.2 Pur)

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy   (Ref 973.713 Enc)

Greenwood library of American war reporting   (Ref 973 Gre)

The Louisiana Purchase : a historical and geographical encyclopedia   
(Ref 973.46 Lou)

The Oxford companion to United States history   (Ref 973.03 Oxf)

Revolutionary America, 1763 to 1800   (Ref 973.3 Pur)

World atlas of the past   (Ref 911 Hay)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on a title to search it directly: The Great American History Fact-Finder, and The Reader's Companion to American History.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

Greenwood Digital Collection (available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include: Daily Life in the American Revolution; Daily Life in Colonial New England; Daily Life in the Early American Republic; Daily Life in the Old Colonial Frontier; Daily Life in Civil War America; and the Slave Narrative series. Collection is searchable by title, author, and subject.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

NC Live (selected databases)

North American Women's Letters and Diaries – over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Coverage: Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Movies
NC Live Media Collection-American History
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Find Websites

A Biography of America  
This telecourse, video series, and website explores United States history via 26 topics, each including interactive maps, key events, transcripts of the series, and web links. Searchable. From the WGBH Educational Foundation.

From Revolution to Reconstruction ... and What Happened Afterwards  
Documents, essays, biographies, and links to other Internet sites form the core of this hypertext site on American history. The material comes from several United States Information Agency (USIA) publications. Searchable. From the Department of Humanities Computing, University of Groningen, The Netherlands.

Freedom: A History of US  
A companion site to the PBS special, where visitors can play interactive games, browse a photo gallery, or explore 16 "webisodes" ranging in topics from the American Revolution to the turmoil of the 1960s. "Webisodes" feature text, photographs, and video images with sound.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)   

Evaluating Websites The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources   

A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) – offers online writing, research, and MLA and APA style help   

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved) 

WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary 

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours     

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/25/2010
Disclaimer