RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide HIS 132 American History II

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Reconstruction
The Civil War and Reconstruction : an eyewitness history   (973.702 Kir)

Forever free : the story of emancipation and Reconstruction   (973.8 Fon)

 

-TOP-

 

Major Wars
Encyclopedia of the Viet Nam War   (Ref 973.92 Gre)

Encyclopedia of WWI: a political, social, and military history   (Ref 940.3 Wor v. 1-5)

Encyclopedia of WWII: a political, social, and military history   (Ref 940.53 Enc v. 1-5)

The good fight : how World War II was won   (940.53 Amb)

Greenwood Library of American war reporting   (Ref 973 Gre)

Let the good times roll : life at home in America during World War II   (973.917 Cas)

Palgrave concise historical atlas of the second world war   (Ref 911 Pal)

The road to Pearl Harbor : the coming of the war between the United States and Japan   (940.532 Fei)

Threshold of war : Franklin D. Roosevelt and American entry into World War II   (940.532 Roo)

The war to end all wars : the American military experience in World War I    (940.409 Cof)

 

-TOP-

 

Roaring Twenties/Great Depression
And a time for hope : Americans in the Great Depression   (973.917 McG)

Daily life in the United States, 1920-1940 : how Americans lived through the "Roaring Twenties" and the Great Depression   (973.91 Kyv)

Discontented America : the United States in the 1920s   (973.91 Gol)

The Grapes of wrath [videorecording]   (791.43 VT-407)

The jazz age : the 20s   (973.91 Jaz)

Modern America, 1914 to 1945   (Ref 973.9 Gre)

These United States : portraits of America from the 1920s   (973.914 The)

 

-TOP-

 

1950s/Cold War
Cold War America: 1946-1990   (Ref 973.92 Gre)

The Cold War : opposing viewpoints   (327.73 Col)

Encyclopedia of cold war espionage, spies, and secret operations   (Ref 327.12 Tra)

Fifties in America   (Ref 973.92 Fif v. 1-3)

 

-TOP-

 

1960s
Age of contradiction : American thought and culture in the 1960s   (973.92 Bri)

Awaiting Armageddon : how Americans faced the Cuban Missile Crisis   (973.922 Geo)

Great Events from History: North American series   (Ref 970 Gre)

The 1960s   (973.92 Nin)

Parting the waters : America in the King years, 1954-1963   (973.049 Bra)

The Sixties in America   (Ref 973.92 Six)

-TOP-

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Credo Reference (To log in, you must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on a one of these titles to search it directly: The Great American History Fact-Finder, The Reader's Companion to American History, and The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.

Greenwood Digital Collection(available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include Daily Life During World War I; Daily Life in the Industrial United States, 1890-1900; Daily Life in the United States: 1920-1939; 1940-1959; and 1960-1990; The Civil Rights Movement; The Collapse of Communism in the Soviet Union; The Holocaust; World War I; and World War II. Collection is searchable by title, author, and subject.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

NC Live (selected databases including journals and e-books)

Annals of American History – provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews. Speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, editorials, and more. Photos and multimedia included.

Britannica Online Academic Edition – over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries – over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Coverage: Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.

Salem History: The Decades Series
Full content from the print versions of the critically acclaimed The Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, and Eighties in America.

-TOP-

 

Find Movies
NC LIVE Media Collection-American History and NC LIVE Media Collection-American History: 20th Century
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

 

 

-TOP-

 


Find Websites

A Biography of America  
This telecourse, video series, and Web site explores United States history via 26 topics, each including interactive maps, key events, transcripts of the series, and Web links. Searchable. From the WGBH Educational Foundation.

Decades in 20th Century America   
A collection of print and online sources for each of the century's decades, as well as several that cover more than one decade. Annotated and regularly updated. Developed by Librarians at the Alameda County (CA) Library.

Freedom: A History of US 
A companion site to the PBS special, where visitors can play interactive games, browse a photo gallery, or explore 16 "webisodes" ranging in topics from the American Revolution to the turmoil of the 1960s. "Webisodes" feature text, photographs, and video images with sound.

Librarians’ Internet Index 
Resources selected and evaluated by professional librarians. Search United States History and select sub-category (e.g. Reconstruction, The Great Depression, Military history, etc.)

-TOP-  

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-