|
Subject Guide HIS 221 African American History
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
African American Lives. 2004. location: REF 920.009 Afr
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century. 1996.
location: REF 509.2 Kes
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History : the Black Experience in the Americas. 6 vols. 2006.
location: REF 973.049 Enc
Encyclopedia of American Social History. 3 vols. 1993.
location: REF 301.097 Enc
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. 3 vols. 1998. location: REF323.119 Enc
Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery. 2 vols. 1997.
location: REF 306.362 His
Notable Black American Women. 2 vols. 2003.
location: REF 920.72 Not
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Britannica Online Academic Edition – over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more.
Credo Reference (To log in, enter off-campus password in < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format, including Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students, The African American Almanac, and the U*X*L Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Greenwood Digital Collection (available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include Daily Life in Civil War America, sourcebook on the Civil Rights Movement, and American Slave Narratives. The collection is searchable by keyword, title, author, and subject.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Find Articles
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
NC Live (selected databases)
Annals of American History – provides full text of speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials from 1493 to present. Also includes pictures, video clips, and audio of famous speeches. Searchable by time period, author, or topic.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries – over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Coverage: Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
-TOP-
Find Movies
NC Live Media Collection-African American Studies
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.
-TOP-
Find Websites
African American History
An excellent selection of over 60 links to authoritative sites that cover African American General History; Civil War & Slavery; Civil Rights; Chronologically Arranged Sites; and Biographies. Site maintained by the University of Washington Libraries.
African American Women's History
A directory of sites about "the history of black women in America, from slavery through Reconstruction, Harlem Renaissance and civil rights." It includes biographies of notable and little-known African American women, organization and club memberships, participation in events and movements, educational and political activities, and more. Includes a list of "white women who worked for racial justice and the rights of African Americans." An About.com site.
The African Presence in the Americas: 1492-1992
This site explores the "dynamics and dimensions of the 500 year history of African people" in North, Central, and South America and the Caribbean, focusing on themes of migration, work, culture, and resistance. Includes timeline (1000 B.C. to 1992), a glossary, bibliographies, and links. From the New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
Searchable, browsable collection of approximately 1,235 images "selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery." The collection is organized into 18 broad categories such
as Maps: Africa, New World, Slave Trade; Slave Ships & the Atlantic Crossing (Middle Passage); Portraits & Illustrations of Individuals and more. From the University of Virginia.
A Biography of America
This telecourse, video series, and Web site explores United States history via 26 topics, each including interactive maps, key events, transcripts of the series, and Web links. Searchable. From the WGBH Educational Foundation.
Black History Month
To observe Black History Month, this Information Please site features articles on black history and biographies of notable African Americans in politics, history, entertainment, arts, and sports. It also offers information and links about colleges, holidays, the Spingarn Medal, Tuskegee syphilis experiment, preferred racial or ethnic terminology, statistics on population and earnings, a Civil Rights timeline, and literature.
BlackPast: Remembered and Reclaimed
Developed by the University of Washington, this site covers six centuries of African American history and includes an online encyclopedia, full-text primary documents, and a "Perspectives on African American History" area.
Documenting the American South
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill "provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture." It provides a variety of titles that can be used for reference and research.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Biographical information on "African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering." Each biography provides a detailed bibliography. Includes women scientists as well as individuals who were the first African-Americans to receive Ph.D.s in their fields. From Mitchell C. Brown, a research librarian for chemistry at the University of California Irvine.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience/The Domestic Slave Trade
Topics include an overview, exporters & importers, mode of transporation, vicitms of the trade, the slave traders, and more. Also includes an Image Gallery, original Texts, and Maps to accompany each topic. From the New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Race and Slavery Petitions Project
Searchable database "designed to locate, collect, organize, and publish virtually all surviving legislative petitions, and a large selected group of county court petitions concerning slavery in the South. The project covers the period from the beginnings of statehood to the end of slavery (1770s to 1860s)." From the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
Slavery and the Making of America
Documents “the history of American slavery from its beginnings in the British colonies to its end in the Southern states and the years of post-Civil War Reconstruction." Includes historical overviews, personal narratives, character spotlights, images, and other materials highlighting various aspects of the lives of slaves, such as family, religion, and living conditions. Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu Phone: 336-633-0204
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|