Subject Guide REL 110
World Religions
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Books and Audiovisuals
Atlas of the World's Religions (Ref 200.022 Atl)
The Buddha and His teachings (294.3 Bud)
Eastern Religions: Origins, Beliefs, Practices, Holy texts, Sacred places (Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Shinto) (200.95 Eas)
The Encyclopedia of Christianity (Ref 230 Eva vol.1-3)
Hinduism: Its Historical Development (294.509 Org)
Islam for the Western Mind: Understanding Muhammad and the Koran (297 Dru)
Judais : A Very Short Introduction (296 Sol)
The Rivers of Paradise : Moses, Buddha, Confucius, Jesus, and Muhammad as Religious Founders (291.63 Riv)
Religion and Community (201 War)
Religions of the World [videorecording] (291 VT 2015-2020)
The Wisdom of Faith [videorecording] (200 VT 1120-1124)
World Religions: Western Traditions (Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Christianity, Islam) (291 Wor)
-TOP-
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.
Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Searchable collection of E-Book reference titles including: Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Science and Religion.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.
NC Live (selected databases)
Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works
CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy
MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present
-TOP-
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.
Introduction to Islam
Online version of the 1988 book by M. Cherif Bassiouni, the purpose of which is "to convey to a non-Muslim audience an understanding of Islam, its history, culture, and contribution to civilization." Includes maps, charts, pictures, and drawings.
Judaism 101
An "online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs." Searchable and browsable. Created and maintained as a personal project by librarian Tracey Rich, "a traditional, observant Jew who has put in a lot of research."
Meeting God: Elements of Hindu Devotion
Created to accompany an exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History, this site explores aspects of Hinduism, including worship in the home, community, and temple. Other topics include the importance of daily prayers; the functions of processionals, shrines, images, vows, trances, possessions, and renunciation; and Hinduism's core center of the absolute divine. Searchable.
Religion & Ethics-Religions
Information on the history, beliefs, holy days, subdivisions, texts, places, rites & rituals, and ethics of the world's major religions. Includes related links. From the British Broadcasting Company (BBC).
Religion Online
Resources designed "to assist professors, scholars and general 'seekers' who are interested in exploring religious issues." This site aims "to develop an extensive library of hundreds of entries, presenting many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship." Contains nearly 5,500 articles in such topics as the Bible, practical theology, ethics, social issues, history of religion, and education. Includes links to over 200 full-text books. Searchable and browsable.
Resources for the Study of Buddhism
Contains a short introductory reading list; links to general sites, Sutras, and texts; and links and writings related to Buddhism and children, Theravada and Mahayana teachings, science, vegetarianism, animal welfare, death and dying, and respect for parents. Compiled by Dr. Ron Epstein, Philosophy Department, San Francisco State University.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Library Hours
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|