RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide REL 111 Eastern Religions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

Selected Books and Audiovisuals

An Anthology of Living Religions   (202 Fis)

Atlas of the World's Religions   (Ref 200.022 Atl)

The Buddha and His Teachings   (294.3 Bud)

Contemporary Hinduism:  Ritual, Culture, and Practice   (294.509 Rin)

Eastern Religions : Origins, Beliefs, Practices, Holy texts, Sacred places  (Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Shinto)   (200.95 Eas)

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals   (REF 203.803 Enc)

Hinduism: Its Historical Development   (294.509 Org)

Nourishing the Essence of Life:  The Outer, Inner, and Secret Teachings of Taoism   (299.514 Nou)

Religions of the World [videorecording]   (291 VT-2015)

Shinto   (299.561 Shi)

Understanding Confucius   (181.095 Con)

The Wisdom of Faith [videorecording]  (200 VT 1120-1124)

-TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Related titles include (click the title to search it): Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Science and Religion.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more

CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present

-TOP-

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

-TOP-

 

Find Websites

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Confucius (c. 551 - 479 BCE)
Scholarly article on the Confucius of history, of myth, and of the state including analysis of some key themes from the Analects, discussion of the key interpreters of Confucius, and references for further reading.

Meeting God: Elements of Hindu Devotion 
Created to accompany an exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History, this site explores aspects of Hinduism, including worship in the home, community, and temple. Other topics include the importance of daily prayers; the functions of processionals, shrines, images, vows, trances, possessions, and renunciation; and Hinduism's core center of the absolute divine. Searchable.

Resources for the Study of Buddhism   
Contains a short introductory reading list; links to general sites, Sutras, and texts; and links and writings related to Buddhism and children, Theravada and Mahayana teachings, science, vegetarianism, animal welfare, death and dying, and respect for parents. Compiled by Dr. Ron Epstein, Philosophy Department, San Francisco State University.

Religion & Ethics-Religions
Information on the history, beliefs, holy days, subdivisions, texts, places, rites & rituals, and ethics of the world's religions. Includes related links. Coverage includes: Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto and Taoism. From the British Broadcasting Company (BBC).

Taoism Information Page
A collection of links to Web resources on Taoism, including translations of the Tao Te Ching, the Chuang-tzu, the I Ching, and the Sun-tzu Art of War. Other sections provide links to resources on Chinese language & culture, acupuncture, feng shui, martial arts (specifically tai chi), and Chinese philosophy. A Virtual Library site.

-TOP-

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-