RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide REL 212 Introduction to the New Testament

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

 

Selected Books and Journals

Bible review   (Periodicals)

The Complete Bible handbook   (Ref 220.61 Bow)

Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible   (Ref 220.3 Dic)

Eerdmans dictionary of the Bible   (Ref 220.3 Eer)

Harper's encyclopedia of Bible life   (220.3 Mil)

The Illustrated Bible dictionary   (Ref 220.3 Ill)

The Illustrated guide to the Bible   (220.61 Por)

The New Interpreter's Bible : general articles & introduction, commentary, & reflections for each book of the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books in twelve volumes   (Ref 220.77 New)

The New Testament: a historical introduction to the early Christian writings   (225.67 Her)

The Oxford companion to the Bible   (Ref 220.3 Oxf)

Strong's exhaustive concordance   (Ref 220.2 Str)

Who's who in the Bible   (220.92 Who)

The Wycliffe Bible commentary   (Ref 220.7 Wyc)

 

 -TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more

Credo Reference – Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits. Click on one of these titles to search it directly: Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda, Who's Who in the New Testament, and The Holy Bible King James Version 1611.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Related titles include (click the title to search it): Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Science and Religion.

NetLibrary (available through NC LIVE)
Ebook collection offering easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books

 

-TOP-

 

Find Websites

Bible Study Tools  
"Designed to facilitate in-depth study and exploration" of the Bible. Included are several translations, interlinear Bible commentaries, concordances, dictionaries, lexicons, sermon helps, and Bible history.

Librarians' Internet Index 
Internet resources selected, evaluated, and organized by professional librarians. Searchable and browsable.

New Testament Gateway  
An annotated "directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament." Also provides a blog. Topics include Jesus in film, women and gender, Bible translations, and Judaica. Browsable indexes make this site easy to navigate. Searchable and browsable. From the University of Birmingham, England.

Religion Online   
Resources designed "to assist professors, scholars and general 'seekers' who are interested in exploring religious issues." This site aims "to develop an extensive library of hundreds of entries, presenting many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship." Contains nearly 5,500 articles in such topics as the Bible, practical theology, ethics, social issues, history of religion, and education. Includes links to over 200 full-text books. Searchable and browsable.

 

-TOP-

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved) 

-TOP-

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.  

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-