Subject Guide ANT 210

General Anthropology

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books and Periodicals

American Anthropologist   (Periodicals)

Anthropology : a student's guide to theory and method   (301.01 Bar)

The dictionary of anthropology   (Ref 306.03 Dic)

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology   (Ref 305.803 Enc)

Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology   (Ref 306.03 Enc)

Evolution : the remarkable history of a scientific theory   (576.8 Lar)

History and theory in anthropology   (301.01 Bar)

Linguistics : an introduction   (410 Lin)

The Oxford companion to archaeology   (Ref 930.103 Oxf)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

Master File Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present.

NetLibrary – ebook collection offering easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Websites

Anthropology Biography Web  
Brief biographies of over 800 "anthropologists and other scientists that have direct influence on the discipline of anthropology." From the EMuseum of Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Anthropology in the News
Links to free news stories published on the web by major news outlets, university press releases, and other sources. Hosted by Texas A&M Anthropology Department.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Well-maintained collection of Web resources on general anthropology, archaeology, archaeological digs, linguistics, cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, and more.

Archaeology Info
Includes Human Evolution Timeline, Hominid Fossils Gallery, web guide, and glossary.

Cultural Resource Management
Biannual magazine published by the National Park Service. Coverage: 1978-2002. Includes index and searchable archives.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.                                                         

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours    

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 03/17/2010
Disclaimer