|
Subject Guide Art History I &
Art History II
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Reference Books and Periodicals
Art and Artists in the Twentieth Century (Ref 709.22 Cum)
Art in America (Periodicals)
Art News (Periodicals)
The Encyclopedia of Visual Art (Ref 709 Enc)
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Ref 704.94 Hal)
Grove Dictionary of Art (Ref 703 Dic)
History of Art (Ref 709 Jan)
The Illustrated Dictionary of Art & Artists (Ref 703.21 Ill)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Prehistoric and Ancient Art (Ref 709.01 Huy)
Modern Arts Criticism (Ref 709 Mod)
The Oxford History of Western Art (Ref 709 Oxf)
A Visual Dictionary of Art (Ref 703 Vis)
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Credo Reference (You must enter the off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects, including rights-cleared high quality art images. Click on the following titles to search for art information: The Bloomsbury Guide to Art, The Bridgeman Art Library Archive, and The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Find Articles
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
NC Live (selected databases)
Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects (8 art journals) and includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works
CAMIO – Provides rights-cleared, high-quality art images
Gale Virtual Reference Library – Searchable collection of ebook reference titles, including Arts and Humanities Throughout the Eras
NetLibrary – ebook collection offering easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books
-TOP-
Find Websites
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
This site is "dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources." Images are arranged in five broad categories: Ancient Art & Architecture, Medieval Art, Renaissance & Baroque, 18th - 20th Century, and Non-Western Art (pre-Columbian Meso-America and Native American only). Each section is subdivided by geography or cultural identity, style or school, and medium (architecture, sculpture, painting, etc.).
Artcyclopedia
Major index of websites where artists’ works can be viewed online. Features paintings and sculptures predominantly, but does include other artistic media. Searchable by artists’ name, artworks by title, and art museums.
Art History Resources on the Web
Provides a gateway to resources on art history from ancient times to the present day. Includes links to research resources, an extensive list of museums and galleries by country, online journals, exhibits, and university art departments. Time periods are divided into countries, cultures, and styles. From the Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College, VA.
Timeline of Art History
Features art history through 1600 A.D. Allows visitors to compare the cultures of peoples around the world beginning in prehistoric times. Coverage includes "key historical and cultural events of the period in chronological order." Information for each piece includes artist's name (if known), title, date, culture, medium, dimensions, credit line, accession number, and a description. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
Web Gallery of Art
Contains over ten thousand images of "European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800)." Searchable, and browsable by artist. Includes selected annotations, guided tours of the collection, and a glossary of related terms.
WebMuseum, Paris
Mostly European art, from Gothic to 20th Century, organized by period and includes more than 150 artists with biographical information and images of their work. Includes artist index and glossary.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Phone: 336-633-0204
Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|