RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2009 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2008 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide BIO 140 Environmental Biology

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books and Audiovisuals

Ecology basics   (Ref 577.03 Eco v. 1-2)

Encyclopedia of aquatic life   (Ref 591.92 Enc)

Encyclopedia of environmental studies (Ref 333.703 Ash)

The environment   (333.7 Env)

Environmental activists   (Ref 363.7 Env)

Environmental almanac   (Ref 363.7 Inf)

Environmental literature   (Ref 333.72 Env)

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology   (Ref 570.3 Fac)

Frozen earth : the once and future story of ice ages   (551.792 Mac)

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Wildlife   (Ref 591 Ill)

North America : a continental overview of environmental issues   (363.7 Hil)

Pollution : opposing viewpoints   (363.73 Pol)

Saving life on earth [videorecording]   (333.951 VT-839)

 

-TOP-

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Examples of biology titles include: Click on the following titles to search: The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management and Collins Dictionary of Biology.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Websites

AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment  
The site provides "maps and graphics that quantify and illustrate many of the issues, and text that lays out the broader links between population dynamics and the environment and places them within their historical perspective." Topics include natural resources, land use, atmosphere, waste and chemicals, ecosystems, and biodiversity. Also includes case studies on specific regions. Searchable. From the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Climate Debate Daily
Having trouble keeping up with the pros and cons of global warming? "Climate Debate Daily maintains a studied neutrality, allowing each side to present its most powerful and persuasive case. Our object is to allow readers to form their own judgments based on the best available information." It includes scholarly articles, blog entries, commentaries, links to climate news & research, and more.

Earth Trends  
“a comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.” Contains a database, data tables, maps, country profiles, and related articles for each topic. Searchable. From the World Resources Institute, “an independent nonprofit organization ... of scientists, economists, policy experts, business analysts, statistical analysts, [and] mapmakers.”

Environmental News Network (ENN)  
This site aims to “help educate the public on major issues and to provide tools to help individuals take action in their own communities.” It claims to “present information from all sides, enabling our users to make their own decisions.” Features news stories, audio and video clips, quizzes and polls, and in-depth features on topics such as green building and socially responsible investing. Searchable and browsable.

A Global Map of Human Impacts to Marine Ecosystems
This project of the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis at the University of California, Santa Barbara provides "critical information for evaluating where certain activities can continue with little
effect on the oceans, where other activities might need to be stopped or moved to less sensitive areas, and where to focus efforts on protecting the last pristine areas."

GreenFILE
Full-text of more than 4,600 records from scholarly & general interest titles, and government documents & reports. Free from EBSCO.

Scorecard: The Pollution Information Site  
Locate polluting companies in your neighborhood, find information about the type of chemicals being released, and learn the health risks associated with those pollutants. Researchers can also discover how their state or county fares in a national ranking of polluters; find maps locating toxic polluters by town, county, and state; and read about the regulatory controls governing these toxic chemicals. From Environmental Defense “a leading national nonprofit environmental advocacy group founded in 1967…”

Terms of Environment  
This glossary from the Environmental Protection Agency "defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees." Includes abbreviations and acronyms. Searchable and browsable.

USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
Provides "research and technical assistance in support of sound management and conservation of biological systems in the western United States." Includes access to current research, news, fact sheets, and more. Searchable.

World Wide Science.org
Search across 28 scientific databases from 18 countries in this "Global Science Gateway." Includes published research findings in energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and the basic sciences. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

-TOP-  

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: Or Why It's A Good Idea To Evaluate Web Sources

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours. 

Library Hours     

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-