Subject Guide BUS 110
Introduction to Business

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books and Periodicals

Business Week   (Periodicals)

Brands and branding   (658.827 Bra)

Contemporary marketing   (658.8 Boo)

Encyclopedia of american business history   (Ref 338.097 Gei v. 1-2)

Encyclopedia of business   (Ref 650.103 Enc)

Five regions of the future : preparing your business for tomorrow's technology revolution   (600 Bar)

Fortune   (Periodicals)

Globalization   (303.482 Glo)

Inc.   (Periodicals)

SBA loans : a step-by-step guide   (658.152 O'Ha)

Smart Computing   (Periodicals)

The unofficial guide to starting a small business   (658.111 Tur)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on a title to search it: Dictionary of E-business, and Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management, The Ultimate Business Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

NC Live (selected business databases)

Business Source Premier – full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses

Morningstar Library Edition – comprehensive information on mutual funds and stocks

Regional Business News – full text of 52 business journals and newspapers covering metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.

Wall Street Journal - full-text articles from 1984 to present

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Websites
Biz/Ed Glossary, Diagram Bank and Acronym Finder
This site "has over 1000 business and economics definitions and nearly 200 of the most common diagrams for you to search or browse." Also includes a list of acronyms. From a British "provider of Internet-based learning materials for the economics and business education community."

BizLink: Your On-line Business Resource  
A directory of resources covering careers, jobs, and salaries; company and industry research; international business; investment and personal finance; marketing and demographics; patent and trademark sources; advice on starting a business; and taxes. Includes business forms. From the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, NC.

CIA: The World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data.

globalEDGE  
Features "information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." Research materials include country profiles (with business climate, history and politics, and statistics); a searchable, topical directory of international business resources; market indicators; and a glossary. The site also features news and commentary, a discussion board and chat room, and academic research resources. From Michigan State University.

U.S. Department of Commerce
Search one of the Department's bureaus by clicking on the name:

 

U.S. Department of Labor

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)– offers online writing, research, and MLA and APA style help 

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Sample Research Paper: APA Style

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

Sample Research Papers: MLA Style 

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours  

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/26/2010
Disclaimer