|
Subject Guide CJC 111 Introduction to Criminal Justice
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Reference Books
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution (Ref 342.73 Enc)
Includes doctrinal concepts of constitutional law, people, judicial decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, and public acts such as statutes, treaties, and executive orders.
Encyclopedia of American Prisons (Ref 365.973 Enc)
Contains more than 160 signed articles introducing readers to facilities, prison policies and procedures, and current prison issues such as prisoners’ rights, gangs, and visits by the children of incarcerated women.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice (Ref 364.36 Enc)
Discusses delinquency theories and theorists, truancy, victimization, alcohol and drug abuse, etc. Appendix contains Internet resources for juvenile justice.
Encyclopedia of Psychology (Ref 150.3)
Covers topics such as criminal behavior, addiction and treatment, violence and aggression, victims and victimization.
Encyclopedia of Sociology (Ref 301.03)
Provides in-depth information about crime from a sociological perspective including cultural perspectives, discrimination in sentencing, juvenile delinquency, violence and aggression.
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (Ref 348.73 Wes)
Provides coverage of terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, and persons significant to U.S. Law. Volume 11 covers “milestones in the law,” Primary Documents can be found in Volume 12, and Volume 13 contains a dictionary of legal terms, and general and case indexes.
Dictionaries and Handbooks:
Black’s Law Dictionary (Ref 340.03 Bla)
Dictionary of crime terms (Ref 364.03 Sif)
Ferdico’s Criminal Law and Justice Dictionary (Ref 345.73 Fer)
Statistical Handbook of Violence in America (Ref 303.609 Sta)
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on one of these titles to search it directly: Collins Dictionary of Law, Great American Court Cases, and World of Criminal Justice.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Find Articles (electronic & print)
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Loislaw – Offers a wide range of legal content and supporting materials, including: up-to-date cases, statutes, rules and regulations, and other primary law for all 50 states and federal jurisdictions; extensive public records for individuals and corporations; and “Law Links” for locating web-based legal resources. Note: Password required from library staff. It is highly recommended that you review the “Expert Search Tips” section before beginning your research.
NC Live (selected databases)
America's Newspapers – Full-text content of 10 U.S. newspapers, each the complete electronic edition of record. Paid ads are excluded. In addition, several North Carolina newspapers are offered.
Academic Search Premier – a general database containing full-text articles and citations from scholarly sources on many subjects.
CQ Researcher Online – provides coverage of social and political issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report) – Law enforcement reports of crime data.
Learning Express Library – Select Law Enforcment to access interactive online practice tests for: Corrections Officer; Border Patrol; Court Officer; Police Officer; Police Sergeant; Probation/Parole Officer; State Trooper; and Treasury Enforcement Agent.
Newspaper Source – provides full-text of many major American & international newspapers.
-TOP-
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center – Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.
Print Journals: Located in PERIODICALS section of the library
Corrections Today Police
FBI Law Enforcement The Police Chief
Law Enforcement News
-TOP-
Find Websites
American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Criminal Justice
Includes criminal justice issues such as juvenile justice, death penalty, racial bias, search and seizure, sentencing and prisons, and war on drugs.
American Law Sources On-Line
A large collection of links pointing to law sources (cases, statutes, etc.), commentary on the law (law reviews, other commentary, books), and practice aids (e.g., court information, official forms, other resources) organized by U.S. states, Canada, and Mexico.
Criminal Justice Links
From Florida State University School of Criminology and Criminal Justice. Includes web links organized by topics such as federal criminal justice agencies, crime and prevention, juvenile justice, police, courts, forensics, media, drugs and alcohol, etc.
Find Law
Provides comprehensive, plain-English legal information to businesses and individuals. Offers comprehensive information, resources and services for law practice and legal career development, including free case law, an online career center, breaking news, newsletters, message boards, service directories, continuing legal education and legal search tools.
Internet Library of Law and Court Decisions
Contains information on court decisions affecting the World Wide Web. Decisions are indexed by subject, cases are organized alphabetically by case name, followed by a brief synopsis of the decision. If the case is of interest to you, click on the case name, and you will be taken to a more complete description of the court decision.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases
The standard resources available for each case include: background summaries and questions, diagrams of how the cases moved through the court system, excerpts from the majority (and where appropriate) the dissenting opinions, and links to the full text of the Supreme Court's decisions.
Lawguru Legal Term Dictionary
LexisONE
Provides links to U.S. state resources including the state home page; statewide offices; legislative, judicial, and executive branches; rules of court and forms; boards and commissions; regional government councils; counties; legal research, and access to free case law.
Librarians’ Internet Index
Internet resources selected and evaluated by professional librarians. Searchable & browsable.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Provides links to all Department of Justice agencies such as the Bureau of Justice Statistics and Office for Victims of Crime. Highlights major events, legislation, and newly published reports. Includes direct links to abstracts and full-text databases for searching publications and finding statistical reports.
-TOP-
Find Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Find statistics about crime and victims, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, etc.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Use the links to the abstracts and full-text databases for searching publications to find reports containing statistics.
North Carolina Crime Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (Ref 364.973 Sou) or
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
Includes statistics on crimes and victims, as well as public opinion polls. Many tabulations presented by age, sex, race, and geographic area.
Uniform Crime Reports for the United States or (Ref 364.973 Uni)
Published by the FBI. Reports crime statistics aggregated from multiple U.S. law enforcement agencies. Includes crime index, violent and property crimes, and hate crimes.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours during weekdays.
Phone: 336-633-0204
Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|