Subject Guide CJC 212

Ethics & Comm Relations

 
Articles (electronic & print)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Reference Books

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are a good starting point for researching topics that you know only a little about or that are completely new to you.  They can give you background information which can help when you move to more in-depth resources later.  Specialized, or subject encyclopedias, may cover just one field or even a sub-unit of that field:

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice Key Terms & Major Court Cases    (Ref 364.03 Ame)
One stop student resource for key terms and concepts from diverse areas, including criminology, criminal justice, corrections, probation/parole, juvenile justice, and policing.

Criminal Justice   (Ref 345.73 Cri v.1-3)
Contains more than 160 articles on policing, law-enforcement agencies, and other aspects of law enforcement. A list of cross-references to other articles follows every essay.

Policing in America: A Reference Handbook    (363.209 Ste)
Includes chapters on policing problems, controversies, and solutions, facts and data, and lists of additional print and non-print resources including books, journal articles, scholarly journals, magazines, and Web sites.

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia    (REF 361.973 v.5)
Volume 5 contains articles on police abuse and corruption, criminal rights, racial profiling, rioting, and more. Each chapter offers both the historical background of each topic and examines the contemporary aspects of the issues at hand. Includes cross-references to related topics, lists of related Web sites, and extensive bibliographies.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password is Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password

Credo Reference (Enter off-campus password in the Library Card Number field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Example criminal justice titles include: World of Criminal Justice and Great American Court Cases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles (electronic & print)

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

New Criminal Justice Periodicals
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 240 titles, with more than 80 available in full-text.

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – a general database containing full-text articles and citations from scholarly sources on many subjects. Includes many journals and trade magazines published for the criminal justice field, including Criminal Justice Ethics.

CQ Researcher Online – provides coverage of social and political issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Newspaper Source Plus – provides full-text of many major American & international newspapers.

 

-TOP-

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center – Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

 

Print Journals:  Located in PERIODICALS section of the library

Corrections Today                           Police
FBI Law Enforcement                     The Police Chief
Law Enforcement News

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Websites

American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Criminal Justice
"The ACLU works in the courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to all people in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States." Includes criminal justice issues such as juvenile justice, death penalty, racial bias, search and seizure, sentencing and prisons, and war on drugs.

Criminal Justice Links   
From Florida State University School of Criminology and Criminal Justice.  Includes web links organized by topics such as federal criminal justice agencies, crime and prevention, juvenile justice, police, courts, forensics, criminal justice in the media, drugs and alcohol, etc.

Institute of Criminal Justice Ethics
This site "acquaints you with the work of the Institute for Criminal Justice Ethics and its staff; provides an extensive resource library of criminal justice ethics links to other useful sites in the field; and offers a forum for debate and the exchange of cje-related information." The Institute publishes the Criminal Justice Ethics journal, which is available for free in Academic Search Premier (via NC LIVE).

Justice Research Association (JRA)
"JRA is a non-profit educational and research organization engaged in criminal justice research and technical and developmental assistance in the area of criminal justice distance learning." Of particular interest is the "The Cybrary," better known as Dr. Frank Schmalleger's Cybrary, which provides both an index of criminal justice Web sites as well as a comprehensive search feature.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service   
Provides links to all Department of Justice agencies such as the Bureau of Justice Statistics and Office for Victims of Crime.  Highlights major events, legislation, and newly published reports.  Includes direct links to abstracts and full-text databases for searching publications and finding statistical reports.

PoliceOne.com
A site with extensive information on a large number of policing issues, including current police news stories, video feeds, police products, articles, columns, training courses, and more.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Find statistics about crime and victims, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, etc.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Use the links to the abstracts and full-text databases for searching publications to find reports containing statistics.

North Carolina Crime Statistics

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics   (Ref 364.973 Sou) or

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
Includes statistics on crimes and victims, as well as public opinion polls.  Many tabulations presented by age, sex, race, and geographic area.

Uniform Crime Reports for the United States  or  (Ref 364.973 Uni)
Published by the FBI.  Reports crime statistics aggregated from multiple U.S. law enforcement agencies.  Includes crime index, violent and property crimes, and hate crimes.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)   

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources   

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions within 24 hours during weekdays.                                                    

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours     

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-          

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/25/2010
Disclaimer