Subject Guide ECO 151

Survey of Economics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates,and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books and Periodicals

Barron's   (Periodicals)

Contemporary U.S. tax policy   (336 Ste)

Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world   (Ref 658.848 Mor)

Economics in America : opposing viewpoints   (338.973 Eco)

Encyclopedia of American economic history : studies of the principal movements and ideas (Ref 330.973 Enc)

Encyclopedia of economics   (Ref 330.032 Enc)

Fortune   (Periodicals)

International business : the challenge of global competition   (658.049 Bal)

Understanding economics   (330 Smi)

Understanding inflation & unemployment   (332.41 Smi)

The Wall Street journal guide to understanding money & investing   (332.609 Mor)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Examples of economic titles include: Collins Dictionary of Economics and Wiley's Dictionary of Economics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.


NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

Business Source Premier – Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

CQ Researcher Online – reports offering in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Wall Street Journal - full-text articles from 1984 to present

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Find Websites

AmosWeb   
The free content of this site includes WEBpedia (economics encyclopedia); GLOSSarama, a glossary of over 500 searchable or browsable economic terms and concepts; ECONworld, a searchable database of economics and related websites; A Pedestrian's Guide to the Economy; and other material for the economics student. Provided by Orley Amos Professor of Economics at Oklahoma State University.

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)  
The CBO is a "nonpartisan agency that produces policy analyses, cost estimates of legislation, and budget and economic projections that serve as a basis for the Congress's decisions about spending and taxes." The site features publications in areas including disaster assistance (such as consequences of Hurricane Katrina on federal receipts and outlays), environment, health, housing, homeland security, transportation, and more.

Economic Policy Institute (EPI)   
Contains discussion, analysis, and links to other sites about current economic matters, including statistics, labor, income, economic snapshots and indicators, opinion pieces, unemployment, foreign trade, and demographics. Searchable.

Economic Indicators
"Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly compilation is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance."

EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History   
This growing resource "is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field [of U.S. economic history]." Covers the Industrial Revolution, banking, labor, the Great Depression, and numerous other topics. Searchable and browsable. "Articles are written by experts ... and carefully edited." EH.Net is supported by the Economic History Association.

Electronic Commerce  
Includes links to online resources on economic issues concerning e-commerce, including markets, law, accounting, taxes, software vendors.

U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services: Highlights
Data on the monthly changes in import and export activity, covering goods and services in general, goods by category, and goods by geographic area. Includes related links and a chart showing the trade balance over a two-year period. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours    

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 03/17/2010
Disclaimer