Subject Guide EDU 144

Child Development I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.

Selected Books and Periodicals

Achieving learning goals through play : teaching young children with special needs (371.904 Wid)

Ages and stages : developmental descriptions and activities, birth through eight years   (155.4 Mil)

Children with special needs: lessons for early childhood professionals   (371.904 Chi)

Early childhood development: prenatal through age eight   (305.231 Ans)

Early childhood education: an international encyclopedia   (Ref 372.21 Ear v. 1-4)

Early childhood education journal   (Periodicals)

The early years: development, learning, and teaching   (370.152 Ear)

The first three years & beyond : brain development and social policy (305.231 Zig)

Learning theories A to Z (370.3 Leo)

Major trends and issues in early childhood education : challenges, controversies, and insights   (372.21 Maj)

Pioneers of Childhood Education: a bio-bibliographical guide   (Ref 372.21 Pel)

Touchpoints three to six: your child's emotional and behavioral development   (305.231 Bra)

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (Enter off-campus password in < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It’s a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.


NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

CQ Researcher Online – reports offering in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

ERIC (Education) – Indexes over 750 journals in the field of education from 1966 to present. Includes full text of ERIC Digests from 1967 to present.

Master File Premier – General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects

North Carolina Education Directory – Contains addresses and phone numbers of every North Carolina public, federal or charter school and public school system, all employees of the Department of Public Instruction, contact information for education organizations, associations, North Carolina commissions, and educational material suppliers.
 


-TOP-

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center – Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Websites

Action for Children
North Carolina child advocacy organization. Of particular interest is the biennial North Carolina Children's Index that presents a "comprehensive snapshot of how children are faring in North Carolina. The report monitors key indicators that address seven issue areas: health, safety, economic security, early care, education, child maltreatment and delinquency prevention."

Head Start Bureau
"Head Start and Early Head Start are comprehensive child development programs that serve children from birth to age 5, pregnant women, and their families. … [These programs] have the overall goal of increasing the school readiness of young children in low-income families." This site features information about projects and services, grants, research and statistics, budget and policy, and training. Searchable. From the Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Let's Play: A Guide to Toys for Children With Special Needs   
Descriptions of toys appropriate for children with physical impairments, hearing impairments, blindness and low vision, and developmental disabilities. Lists dolls, stuffed toys, games, puzzles, educational toys, and more. "Toys in this Guide were tested by more than 100 children with a variety of special needs at 10 centers across the country." From the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB).

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)  
NAEYC, the “nation’s largest and most influential organization of early childhood educators” provides information about early childhood issues, program/higher education accreditation, public policy, as well as information for students, teachers, and families. Membership required to access some content.

National Center for Early Development & Learning (NCEDL)  
NCEDL "is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES)." It "focuses on enhancing the cognitive, social and emotional development of children from birth through age eight." This site features case studies, reports, fact sheets, and other research documents on topics such as child development, early childhood education, and education policy. Includes related links. Searchable.

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
Division TEACCH provides general information about autism, an overview of different educational and communication approaches, as well as information on research and professional training opportunities. Hosted by the Department of Psychiatry, School of Medicine, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) – offers online writing, research, and MLA and APA style help 

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu
We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

-TOP-

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/25/2010
Disclaimer