RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2009 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2008 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide INT 110 – International Business

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books

iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books, Periodicals, and Audiovisuals

Business Week   (Periodicals)

Brands and branding   (658.827 Bra)

Commanding heights: the battle for the world economy  [videorecording]  (330.126 VT-2022)

Contemporary marketing   (658.8 Boo)

Dictionary of globalization   (Ref 327.03 Jon)

Doing business in the new China : a handbook and guide   (330.951 Zin)

Encyclopedia of business   (Ref 650.103 Enc)

Fortune   (Periodicals)

Globalization   (303.482 Glo)

International business : the challenge of global competition    (658.049 Bal)

 

-TOP-


Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on the title to search it: Collins Dictionary of Business, Dictionary of Business and Management, and Dictionary of E-Business.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005. Includes Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

 

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.


NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications

Business Source Premier – full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses

CQ Weekly – Coverage of the U.S. Congress: bills, votes, amendments, committees, etc. 

Geographic Research SimplyMap
Quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. For the optimal user experience, a personal account should be created to save your work.
Upon entering SimplyMap you will be prompted to "Create Personal Workspace" and enter your e-mail address and a password. You will need access to your email to complete your account set-up.

Master File Premier – General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects

Wall Street Journal - full-text articles from 1984 to present

 

 

-TOP-

 

Find Websites

The Biz/ed Glossary, Diagram Bank and Acronym Finder  
This site "has over 1000 business and economics definitions and nearly 200 of the most common diagrams for you to search or browse." Also includes a list of acronyms. From a British "provider of Internet-based learning materials for the economics and business education community."

Doing Business   
Downloadable annual reports from the World Bank on topics such as starting a business, protecting investors, paying taxes, and getting credit, among others. Includes country specific reports (such as “Doing Business in Brazil”), and also155 printable country data profiles.

BizLink: Your On-line Business Resource  
A directory of resources covering careers, jobs, and salaries; company and industry research; international business; investment and personal finance; marketing and demographics; patent and trademark sources; advice on starting a business; and taxes. Includes business forms. From the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, NC.

Documents Online  
Over 100,000 searchable and browsable documents "of the World Trade Organization, including the legal texts of the WTO agreements" dating back to 1995, updated daily. Selected material is available for the period 1986 to 1994. The site is also available in French and Spanish, though not all documents are available in all three languages.

globalEDGE  
Features "information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." Research materials include country profiles (with business climate, history and politics, and statistics); a searchable, topical directory of international business resources; market indicators; and a glossary. The site also features news and commentary. From Michigan State University.

The World Factbook  
Published annually by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this is a handy reference work for basic statistical data on the countries of the world. Includes maps, and a resource called Flags of the World.

YaleGlobal Online   
This site "is the flagship publication of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization. The magazine explores the implications of the growing interconnectedness of the world." Articles are browsable by region or by subject area such as the environment, gender, politics, science and technology, security and terrorism, and trade. Also provides an introduction to the topic of globalization and links to related sites.

 

-TOP-

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Guide to Grammar and Stylemaintained by Jack Lynch, Associate Professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. 

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) – offers online writing, research, and MLA and APA style help 

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Sample Research Paper: APA Style

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

Sample Research Papers: MLA Style 

WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary 

 

-TOP-

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!


E-mail: library@randolph.edu

We try to answer email questions within 24 hours on weekdays.

Phone: 336-633-0204

Library Hours      

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7!

-TOP-