|
Subject Guide MUS 113 American Music
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates,and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Books and Audio
America's Musical Life: A History (780.973 Cra)
The Best of Classic Broadway. v. 1 and 2 [sound recording] (782.14 CDM-52-53)
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (Ref 782.14 Gan v. 1-3)
Folk Music: A Regional Exploration (781.62 Coh)
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Ref 780.9 Gar)
Instruments in the History of Western music (781.91 Gei)
The Lives of the Great Composers (780.922 Sch)
The Oxford Dictionary of Music (Ref 780.3 Ken)
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Ref 790.3 New)
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on the title to search it: The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in ebook reference title format. Includes Arts and Humanities Throughout the Eras which contains many articles on the history of music (Click the title to search it)
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Find Articles
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
NC Live (selected databases)
Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects (over 60 full-text music journals) including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present.
North Carolina Community Newspapers – Links to many local NC newspapers.
-TOP-
Find Websites
Musical Eras
Baroque Music Homepage
Includes portraits of major composers, several essays on various aspects of Baroque, recommended recordings, a Baroque music sampler, and links to other websites.
Classical Music Navigator
Organized for the user to find over 400 composers of classical music. There are five subjects to choose from: Composers, Basic Library of Notable Works, Geographical Roster, Index of Forms and Styles of Music, and a Glossary.
Essentials of Music
Offers an introduction to music by Eras (Middle Ages - 20th Century), Composers, and Glossary; many entries are illustrated with audio excerpts. From Sony Classical Music and W.W. Norton & Company.
Music History 102: A Guide to Western Composers and their Music from the Middle Ages to the Present
An extensive original collection of text, images, and audio clips of great works of Western music. From the Internet Public Library.
-TOP-
Popular Music
A Passion for Jazz! Music History and Education
Includes a timeline, glossary, jazz history, photo gallery, information on festivals, and more.
Billboard.com
Primary news site for commercial music, with daily music news, weekly charts, new releases, and a Review Finder with tens of thousands of original album reviews from 1970 through today.
-TOP-
Ethnomusciology and Folk Music Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music
A collection of links to Web resources about the study of folk and primitive music arranged by categories such as organizations, bibliography, recordings, and geographical region or ethnic group. Includes links to folk dance sites as well. From the University of Washington Music Library.
-TOP-
Musical Theater
The Internet Broadway Database
"The official archival database for Broadway theatre information...provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today." Search by show, people involved (actors, directors, set and costume designers, stage managers, producers, theater owners, etc.), theater, or character.
Musicals 101.com: the Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film
Features a series of essays covering selected performers and shows, how musicals are made, and more. Also includes special features, reference resources, and reviews. By John Kenrick.
-TOP-
Musical Instruments A Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments
Excellent quality photos and short essays on 40 instruments; most entries have MP3 sound files. From Iowa State University.
Instrument Encyclopedia
This site provides general and historical information for musical instruments from around the world. For some instruments, it provides references and the ability to listen to sample sounds of the instrument. It provides a glossary and links to related sites. The information is categorized by the major instrument types, the Sachs-Hornbostel classification scheme, and by geographic region. This project is an initiative of CHICO, the Cultural Heritage Information and the Community Outreach project at the University of Michigan School of Information.
Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary
Browsable general music dictionary with “a series of appendices that provide a more in-depth look at different areas of music. Some are still under construction. All of these are linked directly to the appropriate terms throughout the glossary.” Created by Richard Cole, Virginia Tech Department of Music and Ed Schwartz, Virginia Tech New Media Center.
-TOP-
Find Movies
NC Live Media Collection-The Arts
Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu Phone: 336-633-0204
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|