Nursing Research

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Books & Movies

To locate books, videos, & DVDs housed in the library, search the library's catalog. Click Find Books, movies, and more

  • Each item recommended for purchase by RCC nursing instructors is designated as "Nursing Approved" in the library catalog
  • Videotapes & DVDs can be checked out from the Library for three days using your student ID.
  • Videotapes & DVDs are also available in the Health & Sciences Center. For more information, email the Health Occupations Secretary here or call 336.333.0264.
  • Circulating books may be checked out for 3 weeks using your student ID.
  • Reference books can only be used in the Library and contain the letters REF in front of the call number (example: REF 616.075 Pag)
    • Medical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
    • Drug handbooks
    • Diagnostic & laboratory test manuals
    • Physicians's Desk Reference
    • Undergraduate & Graduate Nursing Programs Directory
  • E-books
    • Electronic books are available through several Library databases and some free internet sites. If you don't easily find an e-book you need, click ASK a Librarian for help.

  • Credo Reference
    • Contains a collection of e-dictionaries and e-encyclopedias on:
      • Medicine
      • Nursing and Health Professionals
      • Toxicology
      • Health
        Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to enter the off-campus password in Library Card Number field

  • NC LIVE: Gale Virtual Reference Library NC Live
    • Contains a collection of e-encyclopedias on:
      • Nursing and Allied Health
      • Addictive Behavior
      • Genetics
      • Bioethics
        Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password

  • NC LIVE: Net Library NC Live
    • Includes medical & health related books.
      Access Note:
      If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password

  • PubMed: NCBI Bookshelf
    • Type a search term in the Search Books textbox to search the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf of free, full-text biomedical books.

  • NC LIVE Videos: Scientifc American Frontiers NC Live
    • Inlcudes lengthy, online videos on the subjects of health & medicine and sciences. Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.
      Access Note:
      If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password

    -TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Articles

Access to RCC Library databases

  • If you are on campus, click on Find Articles, choose a database, and begin searching.
  • If you are off-campus, click on Find Articles, choose a database, and follow the prompts for logging in using the password provided by the library. Login to Campus Cruiser, email a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.
A note about full-text articles:
  • Most databases act as indexes to articles in periodicals, which means they give a list of citations to articles.
  • Sometimes the full-text of the article is linked to the citation so you can view the entire article.
  • Sometimes only the citation is given and no full-text is available.
  • Many databases provide the option to limit your searches to include only full-text articles.
  • If you want an article that is not available full-text online, check to see if the Library has the magazine or journal, search other databases for the full-text, or ASK a Librarian for help in obtaining the article.

Use the following Library databases to locate articles from professional journals:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    Comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full-text for more than 620 journals and full-text for 218 books/monographs; includes searchable Cited References, Research Instruments, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Access Note: Enter off-campus password in BOTH user name and password fields.

  • CINAHL with Full Text NC LIVE Logo
    Offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full text for 320 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials.

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionNC LIVE Logo
    Provides more than 400 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. Also includes integrated results from Clinical Pharmacology and access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

  • Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide 4th Revised edition, 2008
    Searchable, up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research. Articles include key terms and definitions in sidebars, links to related subjects, complete bibliographies, illustrations & graphs, and more. Access Note: Select Remote Access Login tab and then enter off-campus password.

Use the following Free Websites to locate articles from professional journals:

  • Pubmed Central
    Free digital archive of full-text articles from more than 160 high-quality biomedical and life science journals.

  • BMC Nursing
    An open access journal publishing original, peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of nursing research, training, education, and practice.

  • Online Journal of Issues in Nursing (OJIN) Free, peer-reviewed, international journal addressing topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider healthcare sector.

  • Public Library of Science (PLoS) Peer-reviewed literature published by doctors & scientists. Topic coverage: biology, medicine, clinical trials, genetics, public health, international health issues & research.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Patient Education & Drug Information
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    The CDC, an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services, is dedicated to promoting "health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability." Of special interest to the consumer are the resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z" and "Travelers' Health," with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

  • Health Source: Consumer Edition NC Live
    Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics. Includes full-text for over 150 consumer health journals.

  • Healthfinder.gov
    A gateway consumer health information web site including online journals, medical dictionaries, minority health, as well as prevention and self-care. The developer/sponsor of this site is the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Department of Health and Human Services with other listed agencies.

  • MayoClinic.com
    An excellent consumer source of information. Editors of the site include over 1,200 physicians, scientists, writers and educators at the Mayo Clinic, a non-profit institution with more than 100 years of history in patient care, medical research and education.

  • MedlinePlus
    Comprehensive, quality consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes a medical encyclopedia, drug & herbal supplement information, current health news, & interactive disease tutorials for patients. Available in Enlgish & Spanish.
  • National Institutes of Health: Health Information
    A directory of consumer health information with a simple design that is organized by condition, body system, type of patient, etc. It also provides links to MedlinePlus and to specific institutes within the NIH.

  • NC Health Info
    Connects people to health services (health care providers, support groups, wellness programs, etc.) in North Carolina communities.

  • RXList
    Information provided for each drug includes the description, clinical pharmacology, indications & dosage, side effects & drug interactions, warnings & precautions, drug overdosage, contraindications, and patient information.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Websites for Nurses & Nursing Students

Study Aids for Nursing Students

  • AMA Medical Ethics Web Pages
    Information about medical ethics from the American Medical Association, including the "Virtual Mentor, an interactive, Web-based forum for analysis and discussion of ethical and professional issues."

  • Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
    The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy features 1,247 pictures from the classic 1918 publication.

  • Human Anatomy Online
    Non-searchable, graphical representations of ten anatomy systems: skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, nervous, cardiovascular, male & female reproductive, and urinary. Graphics are interactive and users can view animations of the systems, turtorials, and decriptions. Users need a Java compatible browser to view this site.

  • McGill University VirtualStethoscope
    More than 50 multi-media tutorials featuring a virtual stethoscope (Real Player needed) to assess both respiratory and cardiovascular conditions.

  • Medical Images on the Web
    University of Nebraska Medical Center's excellent portal with evaluated, annotated links to online image collections organized into categories: General; Anatomy & Histology; Cardiology; Dermatology; Embryology; Ear, Nose, and Throat; Endoscopy; Neurology; Pathology; and Pediatrics.

-TOP-

 

General Sites
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
    From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this agency conducts and sponsors research on healthcare quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness. Includes research section devoted to nursing: Nursing Research

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    Provides information on specific health and safety topics, a public health image library, and state & national data sets on health and disease. Use the A to Z index to locate statistical and other information on specific conditions.

  • Hardin MD (Medical Directory)
    Huge, up-to-date collection of medical images and information arranged by "Subject Clusters" and is also browsable and searchable. From the University of Iowa's Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.
  • NLM Gateway
    A handy entry point for searching the resources at the National Library of Medicine. Provides a global search function for PubMed, PubMed Central, and MedlinePlus. Search results include consumer health information. An excellent place to begin a search of health-related government information.
  • PubMed
    A service of the National Library of Medicine. Offers an index to more than 15 million citations from MedLine for biomedical articles, including nursing. Also links to full-text articles and nongovernmental Web resources.
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
    Premier source of global health information, including statistics and country-by-country health overviews. Site is well indexed and easy to navigate. Search WHOLIS to find full-text WHO documents.

-TOP-

 

Selected Nursing Associations
  • American Nurses Associations (ANA)
    Represents registered nurses (RNs). Provides information on current issues in nursing and a career center with a searchable jobs database, space for posting résumés, and advice for job-seekers. Some content is limited to members only, but there is plenty of quality free information.

  • National Coalition of Ethnic and Minority Nurse Associations (NCEMNA)
    Offers information & links to American nurses' associations representing major U.S. ethnic groups, including Asian American/Pacific Islander, Alaska Native American, Hispanic, Black, and Phillippine.


  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing
    Non-profit membership organization comprised of State Boards of Nursing from the U.S. & its territories. Is also the body that develops and administers the National Council Licensure Examination.

  • National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses (NFLPN) Organization for LPNs, vocational nurses and nursing students, fostering competence through continuing education and professionalism. Information on scholarships, links to state affiliates and online discussion forum are all available here.

  • National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission, Inc. (NLNAC) "...nationally recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the accrediting agency for postsecondary and higher degree nursing programs."

  • North Carolina Board of Nursing "In addition to issuing, renewing and reinstating nursing licenses for RNs and LPNs Board responsibilities include: approving and monitoring the state’s nursing education programs which lead to initial licensure; interpreting the practice of nursing based upon the state’s Nursing Practice Act; investigating complaints against licensed nurses; administering the nurse licensure compact; maintaining the Nurse Aide II registry and regulating the practice of Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Midwives.

-TOP-

 

All website descriptions in this guide are used with permission of the authors and excerpted from:

Laskin, M., & Tappeniner, E. (2006, April). Internet resources for nurses and nursing students: A sampling of sites. College & Research Libraries News, 67 (4). Retrieved July 10, 2008, from http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2006/april06/nursing.htm

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/25/2010
Disclaimer