|
Subject Guide PHI 220 Western Philosophy I
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Encyclopedias/Dictionaries/Handbooks
Key Ideas in Human Thought (REF 031 Key)
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (REF 103 Enc vol.1)
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (REF 103 Bla)
The Oxford Companion to the Mind (REF 128.2 Oxf)
Ethics (REF 170.3 Eth)
Western Ethics : An Historical Introduction (170.9 Arr)
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy (180.3 Pre)
Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology (189.03 Bro)
An Illustrated Brief History of Western Philosophy (190 Ken)
Biographies
To locate biographical information about a specific philosopher in the library, do a Subject search for the philosopher's name (for example: Aristotle, Socrates) in the library catalog.
Medieval Philosophers (REF 809.04 Dic)
The First Philosophers : the Presocratics and Sophists (182 Fir)
Presocratics : Natural Philosophers Before Socrates (182 War)
Fifty Key Medieval Thinkers (189 Eva)
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Titles include (click the title to search it): The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy and Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Related titles include (click the title to search it): UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Greenwood Digital Collection (available through NC Live)
Titles of interest include: Daily Life in Medieval Europe; Daily Life in Renaissance Italy; Daily Life in the Medieval Islamic World; Daily Life in the Roman City; Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks; and Daily Life of the Ancient Romans. Collection is searchable by title, author, and subject.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Find Articles
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password
NC Live (selected databases)
Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works
Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more
MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present
-TOP-
Find Websites
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides "scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The present staff of 25 editors and approximately 200 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia." Searchable and browsable. Site hosted by the University of Tennessee at Martin.
Philosophy Pages
Includes a concise "Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names," a survey "History of Western Philosophy," a "Timeline of Western Philosophers" (from 600 B.C.E. to the present), a discussion of logic, a guide to the study of philosophy, and a collection of briefly annotated links to additional resources. Developed and maintained by Garth Kemerling, Professor of Philosophy, Newberry College.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This free, digital encyclopedia is “a dynamic reference work…each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public…Consequently, our dynamic reference work is responsive to new research. You can, however, cite fixed editions which are made on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives.” Searchable and browsable. From Stanford University.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu Phone: 336-633-0204
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|