Subject Guide PHI 240

Introduction to Ethics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books

The Cambridge companion to Locke   (192 Cam)

David Hume : an introduction to his philosophical system   (192 Pen)

Defending diversity : contemporary philosophical perspectives on pluralism and multiculturalism  
(306.4 Def)

Ethics   (Ref 170.3 v. 1-3)

Encyclopedia of Philosophy   (Ref 103 Enc v. 1-1)

A History of Western ethics   (170.9 His)

An introduction to ethical theories   (171 Mes)

Irrational man : a study in existential philosophy   (142 Bar)

Opposing Viewpoints – Book series that explores varying opinions on social issues in a balanced pro/con debate. Each book features black & white illustrations and cartoons, activities, discussion questions, bibliographies, glossaries, chronologies, and indexes. To find your topic in iLink, combine the phrase opposing viewpoints with the word AND plus your topic (example: opposing viewpoints AND euthanasia).

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Titles include (click the title to search it): The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy and Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.


NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

America's Newspapers – Full-text content of 10 U.S. newspapers, each the complete electronic edition of record. Paid ads are excluded. In addition, several North Carolina newspapers are offered

CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present

-TOP-

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Websites

Ethics Matters   
This site "is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students....to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional that relates to ethics." Includes Theories, Applied Ethics (survey of Internet resources on issues such as abortion, world hunger, etc.), classic texts, glossary, tips for writing ethics papers, and more.  Maintained by University of San Diego (CA) Professor Lawrence M. Hinman.

Markkula Center for Applied Ethics  
Excellent site that includes the current and back issues of the quarterly journal "Issues in Ethics," a section on Practicing Ethics that includes lessons in decision making, and a directory of rated and reviewed links to sites on ethics. Searchable. From Santa Clara University.

Philosophy Pages  
Includes a concise Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names, a survey History of Western Philosophy, a Timeline of Western Philosophers (from 600 B.C.E. to the present), a discussion of logic, a guide to the study of philosophy, and a collection of briefly annotated links to additional resources. Developed and maintained by Garth Kemerling, Professor of Philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy   
This free, digital encyclopedia is “a dynamic reference work…each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public…Consequently, our dynamic reference work is responsive to new research. You can, however, cite fixed editions which are made on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives.” Searchable and browsable. From Stanford University.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

 

-TOP-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/25/2010
Disclaimer