RCC Library Logo


HOME

ONLINE RESOURCES

WEBSITES BY TOPIC

RESEARCH BY COURSE

FACULTY RESOURCES

DISTANCE LEARNING RESOURCES

LRC COMPUTER LAB

NEW TITLES

SERVICES

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

LIBRARY STATISTICS

SPRING 2008 STUDENT SURVEY RESULTS

FALL 2007 FACULTY SURVEY RESULTS

FAQs

CONTACT US

Library Home Button
RCC Home Button
Virtual Campus Button
Campus Cruiser Button

Subject Guide POL 110 Introduction to Political Science

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.


Selected Books

Anti-capitalist dictionary: movements, histories, and motivations (Ref 330.122 Low)

Comparative politics : an institutional and cross-national approach   (320.3 Mah)

Comparative politics : domestic responses to global challenges   (320.3 Hau)

Encyclopedia of american political history   (Ref 973.03 Enc)

The encyclopedia of the Democratic Party and The encyclopedia of the Republican Party   (Ref 324.273 Kur)

The history of government from the earliest times   (320.9 Fin)

How government works : selections from the Encyclopedia of the United States Congress, the Encyclopedia of the American presidency, the Encyclopedia of the American judicial system   (Ref 320.473 How)

The Statesman's year-book   (Ref 310.58 Sta)

Student atlas of world politics   (Ref 909.82 Stu)

World government   (320.3 Wor)

 

-TOP-


Find Ebooks, Journal Articles, Newspapers

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
ASK a Librarian or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password


Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Britannica Online Academic Edition – Over 120,000 articles, an updated world atlas, thousands of images and videos, an online dictionary and thesaurus, over 300,000 articles from respected magazines and journals, news headlines, a guide to the Web's best sites, and much more.

CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo Reference Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Poli-Sci titles include (click on a title to search it): The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science, Dictionary of Politics and Government.

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present.

NetLibrary – ebook collection offering easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books.

ProQuest Newspapers – Contains many full text articles from Christian Science Monitor; Los Angeles Times; New York Times; Wall Street Journal; and The Washington Post.

 

-TOP-

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

 

 

-TOP-


Find Websites 

Librarians’ Internet Index   
Internet resources selected, evaluated, and organized by professional librarians. Searchable and browsable.

Political Resources on the Net   
Annotated directory of political sites available on the Internet, searchable and sorted by country, with links to the political parties, information about the political system, constitution, organizations, and the national media.

 

-TOP-

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

 

-TOP-

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!

E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                             Phone: 336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm       

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

 

-TOP-