Subject Guide PSY 150

General Psychology

 

 

 

Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).  You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject. 

  1. You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  2. You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
  3. You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name.  Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
  4. The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
Selected Books and Periodicals

American Psychologist   (Periodicals)

APA Dictionary of Psychology (Ref 150.3 Van)

A dictionary of psychology   (Ref 150.3 Col)

Encyclopedia of human intelligence   (Ref 153.903)

Great psychologists and their times : scientific insights into psychology's history (150.9 Sim)

An illustrated history of American psychology   (150.973 Pop)

Journal of Psychosocial Nursing   (Periodicals)

Learning, motivation, and cognition : the functional behaviorism of Robert C. Bolles   (153.153 Lea)

Psychology and 'human nature'   (150 Ash)

Psychology today   (Periodicals)

Understanding psychology   (150 Mor)

 

-TOP-

 

Find Ebooks

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

Credo Reference (You must enter off-campus password in the < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Click on a title to search it: The Concise Corsini Encylopedia of Psychology and Behavrioral Science, and The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.

NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

-TOP-

Find Articles

Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.

NC Live (selected databases)

Academic Search Premier – Magazines and journals on many subjects including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

CQ Researcher Online – Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy

MasterFile Premier – Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present

-TOP-

Opposing Viewpoints - Provides a one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper articles.

-TOP-


Find Websites

Classics in the History of Psychology
A full-text collection of "historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines." Search by keyword or browse by author or topic. Developed by a professor in the Department of Psychology at York University (Toronto).

Current Topics in Psychology
This directory is a well-organized, quick reference collection of articles, Web sites, and research tools. Maintained by a clinical psychologist.

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Links to psychology sites on the Web divided into various categories such as Environment Behavior Relationships, People and History, and Paradigms and Theories. Also includes links to psychological organizations and publications and a section on careers in the field of psychology. Available in nine languages. From the Department of Psychology, Jacksonville (Alabama) State University.

Psych Web  
Contains links for the APA (American Psychological Association) style guidelines and tutorials, full-text print resources including pamphlets, career information, and links to psychology departments on the Internet. Also includes a searchable database of links to online journals, many of which provide free, full-text access as well as articles on a wide variety of topics including hypnosis, sports psychology, states of consciousness, and more. By a Georgia Southern University professor of psychology.

 

Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools

Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information) 

Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly; or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary  

Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)  

Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)  

 

-TOP-

 

Need Help?  ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu                                                              336-633-0204

We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.

Library Hours       

 

After hours?  No problem!
NCknows
The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7

 

-TOP-

© RANDOLPH COMMUNITY COLLEGE 2010
Library Services
P.O. Box 1009 Asheboro, NC 27204
629 Industrial Park Avenue Asheboro, NC 27205
(336) 633-0204 Email Us: library@randolph.edu

Accreditation Statement
Last Update 08/26/2010
Disclaimer