|
Subject Guide Radiography
Find Books
iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- The library maintains many more resources than those recommended below, so it is important to browse the shelves around the call number to locate other relevant resources.
By entering a <words or phrase> search in the catalog, you can identify books on radiography, as well as on related subjects such as anatomy, computerized tomography, mammography, radiation biology, etc.
NOTE: Certain resources have been approved by RCC Radiography instructors, and are designated as such in the catalog.
Try searching for the following <words or phrases> to find radiography books:
radiography AND medical
radiation effects
radiation AND safety measures
computed tomography
radiography
human anatomy
radiography AND positioning
magnetic resonance imaging
Specific organs, regions, or parts of the body followed by the words AND radiography (example: pelvis AND radiography)
Many of the books related to radiography can be found in the following areas of the library:
616.075 Radiography 611 Human Anatomy 537.535 Radiobiology
Medical Dictionaries
Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary (REF 610.3 Dor)
Imaging and Intervention in Abdominal Trauma (REF 617.55 Ima)
Merrill’s Atlas of Radiographic Positions and Radiologic Procedures (REF 616.075)
Mosby’s Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary (REF 610.321 Mos)
Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (REF 610 Tab)
-TOP-
Find Ebooks
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call 336.633.0204 to obtain password.
Credo Reference (Enter off-campus password in < Library Card Number > field)
Online reference collection featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Medical related titles include Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (available through NC Live)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format. Coverage: 1999 - 2005.
NetLibrary (available through NC Live)
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles.
-TOP-
Password Required for Database Access Off-campus
Login to Campus Cruiser and locate the password on the Library Services page, ASK a Librarian here or call 336. 633.0204 to obtain password.
NC Live (selected databases)
Academic Search Premier – a general database containing full-text articles and citations from scholarly sources including several radiography related titles (Canadian Association of Radiologists Journal, Australasian Radiology, European Journal of Nuclear Medicine, and International Journal of Radiation Biology are part of the collection of full-text journals.)
CINAHL w/Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literatures)
Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full-text available for 320 journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 620 journals and full text for 218 books/monographs; includes searchable Cited References, Research Instruments, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition – Provides more than 400 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. Also includes access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
PubMed – A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
-TOP-
Print Journals: Located in PERIODICALS section of the library
Journal of the American College of Radiology
Radiologic Technology (Journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists)
-TOP-
Radiography Related Websites
Academic Radiology (Official Journal of the Association of University Radiologists)
Publishes original reports of clinical and laboratory investigations in diagnostic imaging, the diagnostic use of radioactive isotopes, computed tomography, positron emission tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, ultrasound, digital subtraction angiography, and related techniques. Free registration is required.
FDA's Mammography Program
The web site has: Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) regulations, proposed regulations, compliance guidance documents; information about mammography facilities inspections; reports about MQSA; mammography program accomplishments; effectiveness of mammography program (GAO reports); and Mammography Matters, FDA's Mammography Program quarterly newsletter directory of mammography facilities certified under MQSA.
MedPix Medical Image Database
A database of over 25,000 medical images and textual information intended for health practitioners and students. The material is organized by disease category, disease location (organ system), and by patient profiles, and can be searched through multiple text search engines. Also included is a collection of radiography cases, highlighted by a "Case of the Week" feature.
MedTerms.com
This online medical dictionary is the medical reference for MedicineNet.com, containing easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms.
The Virtual Body
Interactive exhibit of images and cross-sections of the human skelton, brain, heart and digestive tract. Entire site is also available in Spanish. From MEDtropolis.com.
-TOP-
General Medical Sites
ADAM Medical Encyclopedia (via MedlinePlus)
Includes over 4,000 authoritative articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries, as well as an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Features a vast amount of data on all sorts of health topics and diseases arranged alphabetically, including detailed fact sheets, microbiological information, and full-text articles from CDC publications.
HealthLinks.net
A free directory and portal service for healthcare professionals and consumers built upon a searchable database of over 27,500 links.
NLM Gateway
A Web-based system that allows users to simultaneously search multiple databases at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches 11 databases (including MEDLINE/PubMed) that provide citations for medical journal articles, books, serials, and audio-visual materials, as well as full-text consumer health information, meeting abstracts, and descriptions of research in progress.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP). Guidelines are easily searchable by keyword.
-TOP-
Selected Professional Organizations
American Healthcare Radiology Administrators (AHRA)
National organization for leaders in radiology, serving administrators and technologists alike. “Members worldwide enjoy benefits unmatched by other professional societies-benefits that include an extensive slate of conferences and seminars, an online database of all AHRA members, unique mentoring exchange programs, first-class and award-winning publications, and a popular List Server.”
American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (ARDMS)
The ARDMS administers examinations to eligible sonographers and vascular technologists and awards the RDCS, RDMS, and RVT credentials.
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)
“World's largest credentialing organization that seeks to ensure high quality patient care in radiologic technology. We test and certify technologists and administer continuing education and ethics requirements for their annual registration.”
American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT)
The national professional organization representing radiographers, radiation therapists, nuclear medicine technologists, mammographers, cardiovascular-interventional technologists, computed tomography technologists, dosimetrists, magnetic resonance technologists, educators, and managers. In addition to offering continuing education opportunities to its members, the association publishes the bimonthly journal Radiologic Technology, monthly newsletter ASRT Scanner, and biannual journal Radiation Therapist.
North Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists, Inc. (NCSRT)
Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
“The RSNA’s purpose is to promote and develop the highest standards of radiology and related societies through education and research. The Society seeks to provide radiologists and allied health scientists with educational programs and materials of the highest quality, and to constantly improve the content and value of educational activities. The Society seeks to promote research in all aspects of Radiology and related sciences, including basic clinical research in the promotion of quality healthcare.”
Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (SDMS)
The SDMS provides and oversees educational programs, collects and disseminates information pertinent to the membership, publishes the Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography and a newsletter, reviews and establishes policies regarding the professional status, legislative activity, and welfare of its members.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
APA Publication Manual (Reserve Desk 808.02 Pub)
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
The Good, The Bad & The Ugly:
or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours on weekdays.
Library Hours
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
-TOP-
|