|
RECHS - Earth Science
Table of Contents
Books & Movies
To locate books, videos, & DVDs housed in the library, search the library's catalog. Click Find Books, movies, and more
- Videotapes & DVDs can be checked out from the Library for three days using your student ID.
- Circulating books may be checked out for 3 weeks using your student ID.
- Reference books can only be used in the Library and contain the letters REF in front of the call number Examples:
- Ecology basics (Ref 577.03 Eco v. 1-2)
- Encyclopedia of aquatic life (Ref 591.92 Enc)
- Encyclopedia of environmental studies (Ref 333.703 Ash)
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Wildlife (Ref 591 Ill)
- iLink is the RCC Online Catalog of all the materials available in the RCC Library. Also included are the holdings of 46 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
You can search the catalog by author, keyword, title, periodical title, series, or subject.
- You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold (requires your student ID).
- You can renew books, check due dates, and review fines by clicking on My Account (requires your student ID).
- You can search the Reserve Desk to locate materials by Instructor, Course Number or Course Name. Reserve materials are located at the library Circulation Desk.
- E-books
are available through several Library databases listed below. If you don't easily find an e-book you need, ASK a Librarian for help.
- Credo Reference
- Contains a collection of e-dictionaries and e-encyclopedias on:
- Science & Technology
- Scientists
- Biology
- Ecology & Environmental Management
Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to enter the off-campus password in the Library Card Number field
-TOP-
- NC LIVE: Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Contains a collection of e-encyclopedias on:
- Biomes
- Pollution
- Geology
- Water Issues
Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password
-TOP-
- NC LIVE: Net Library
- Includes books on the environment and earth science.
Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password
- NC LIVE Videos: Scientifc American Frontiers

- Inlcudes lengthy, online videos on the subject of science. Videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). Unfortunately, it is not possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.
Access Note: If you are off campus you will need to select your college & then enter the off-campus password
-TOP-
Articles
Access to RCC Library databases
- If you are on campus, click on Find Articles, choose a database, and begin searching.
- If you are off-campus, click on Find Articles, choose a database, and follow the prompts for logging in using the password provided by the library. Login to Campus Cruiser, email a Librarian here or call (336) 633-0204 to obtain password.
A note about full-text articles:
- Most databases act as indexes to articles in periodicals, which means they give a list of citations to articles.
- Sometimes the full-text of the article is linked to the citation so you can view the entire article.
- Sometimes only the citation is given and no full-text is available.
- Many databases provide the option to limit your searches to include only full-text articles.
- If you want an article that is not available full-text online, check to see if the Library has the magazine or journal, search other databases for the full-text, or ASK a Librarian for help in obtaining the article.
Use the following databases to locate articles from professional journals, general magazines, newpapers & more :
- Academic Search Premier

A general database containing full-text articles and citations from scholarly sources
- CQ Researcher Online

Provides coverage of social and political issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy
- Master File Premier

General magazines, journals, & newspapers covering many subjects
- Newspaper Source Plus

Provides full-text of many major American & international newspapers
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A one-stop source of information on social issues; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine/newspaper/academic journal articles.
-TOP-
Websites-Earth Science Topics
AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment
The site provides "maps and graphics that quantify and illustrate many of the issues, and text that lays out the broader links between population dynamics and the environment and places them within their historical perspective." Topics include natural resources, land use, atmosphere, waste and chemicals, ecosystems, and biodiversity. Also includes case studies on specific regions. Searchable. From the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Climate Debate Daily
Having trouble keeping up with the pros and cons of global warming? "Climate Debate Daily maintains a studied neutrality, allowing each side to present its most powerful and persuasive case. Our object is to allow readers to form their own judgments based on the best available information." It includes scholarly articles, blog entries, commentaries, links to climate news & research, and more.
Earth Trends
“a comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.” Contains a database, data tables, maps, country profiles, and related articles for each topic. Searchable. From the World Resources Institute, “an independent nonprofit organization ... of scientists, economists, policy experts, business analysts, statistical analysts, [and] mapmakers.”
Environmental News Network (ENN)
This site aims to “help educate the public on major issues and to provide tools to help individuals take action in their own communities.” It claims to “present information from all sides, enabling our users to make their own decisions.” Features news stories, audio and video clips, quizzes and polls, and in-depth features on topics such as green building and socially responsible investing. Searchable and browsable.
A Global Map of Human Impacts to Marine Ecosystems
This project of the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis at the University of California, Santa Barbara provides "critical
information for evaluating where certain activities can continue with little
effect on the oceans, where other activities might need to be stopped or
moved to less sensitive areas, and where to focus efforts on protecting the
last pristine areas."
GreenFILE
Full-text of more than 4,600 records from scholarly & general interest titles, and government documents & reports. Free from EBSCO.
-TOP-
Science.gov
"...provides a search of over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites."
Scorecard: The Pollution Information Site
Locate polluting companies in your neighborhood, find information about the type of chemicals being released, and learn the health risks associated with those pollutants. Researchers can also discover how their state or county fares in a national ranking of polluters; find maps locating toxic polluters by town, county, and state; and read about the regulatory controls governing these toxic chemicals. From Environmental Defense “a leading national nonprofit environmental advocacy group founded in 1967…”
Terms of Environment
This glossary from the Environmental Protection Agency "defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees." Includes abbreviations and acronyms. Searchable and browsable.
USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
Provides "research and technical assistance in support of sound management and conservation of biological systems in the western United States." Includes access to current research, news, fact sheets, and more. Searchable.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

Information about health hazards, natural resources, and the environment, with news, maps, image databases, and much more. There is a place to post questions about earthquakes, volcanoes, natural resources, forests, and glaciers plus a collection of resources for students and teachers.
World Wide Science.org
Search across 28 scientific databases from 18 countries in this "Global Science Gateway."
Includes published research findings in energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and the basic sciences. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
-TOP-
Evaluating Websites, Online Citation & Writing Tools
Citation Styles Online (using MLA, APA, Chicago, & CBE to cite online information)
Evaluating Websites: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: Or Why It's A Good Idea To Evaluate Web Sources
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Samples of APA Style (RCC approved)
Samples of MLA Style (RCC approved)
-TOP-
Need Help? ASK a Librarian!
E-mail: library@randolph.edu Phone: 336-633-0204
We try to answer email questions
within 24 hours.
Library Hours
After hours? No problem!

The reference service staffed by North Carolina librarians, open 24/7
|